Useful Links

Middle District of Tennessee

United States District Court



Federal Judicial 6th Circuit

Court of Appeals


Metropolitan Davidson County

Public Defender

Legal Aid Society



National Web Sites

Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts

Federal Defender Web site

Capital Defense Network


National CJA Voucher Reference Tool
The purpose of the on-line Reference Tool is to provide quick access to the policies and procedures related to Criminal Justice Act (CJA) cases, beginning with the appointment of panel attorneys and continuing through the processing of vouchers to the approval of payment for services rendered. This site also includes CJA forms needed by panel attorneys.

Future scheduled local training opportunities will be found here. Other national training programs offered by the Federal Defender Services Training Branch can be found at the following link.

Federal Defender Services Training Branch

District CJA Plan
This link will provide a Acrobat Reader (.pdf) document of the current Middle District of Tennessee CJA Panel plan.

List of current CJA Panel Attorneys for the Middle District of Tennessee
The above link will provide a list of the current list of CJA Panel Attorneys for this district.
How to Apply
Want to apply to the CJA panel for the Middle District of Tennessee? Click on the link for an application and instructions on how to apply.

Panel Advisory Committee
In the Spring of 2010, Henry Martin, FPD, and Chip Frensley, our district CJA representative convened a meeting of a small group of panel members to form a Panel Advisory Committee. This Committee meets periodically to address issues that impact on panel representation and to give the panel a greater voice in the administration of CJA programs in the Middle District of Tennessee. The Committee has established subcommittees with responsibility for training, recruitment, social events and quality of representation. It will also establish ad hoc subcommittees or task forces as needs arise. The Committee is chaired by Chip Frensley and in addition to Martin and Frensley, currently consists of Jodie Bell, Paul Bruno, Patrick Frogge, Kim Hodde, John Oliva, Jim Price, Kathleen Morris and Derrick Scretchen. AFPDs Mariah Wooten, Sumter Camp and Caryll Alpert have been active with the Committee since its inception. Committee membership rotates so that many panel members can share the burdens and opportunities presented.

Panel Attorney of the Year

Beginning in 1991 we have recognized each year a member of the panel for consistently demonstrating a commitment to vigorous and passionate representation of those unable to afford counsel to represent them. Vince Wehby, the Godfather of the Federal Defender Office, was our first CJA Panel Lawyer of the Year. He was followed by Charlie Ray, Lionel Barrett, Jim Bryan, Henry Haile, Don Dawson, Jim Price, Larry Woods, Mike Passino, John Oliva, Jim Simmons, Chip Frensley, Bill Bruce, Paul Bruno, Kim Hodde, Tom Drake, Kathleen Morris, Michael Noel, David Cooper, David Komisar, Patrick Frogge and Jodie Bell. The original cup has retired to a place of honor in the training center of the Federal Defender Office.